Across the Universe of Languages (2007)

B for Bang

Across the Universe of Languages

CD, DIGITAL | KML Sonic Invaders | ref: KML 1115


Iconic figures of the 20th century, The Beatles embraced the changing world. Their music still resounds in people’s mind, whatever their generation, country, language. It’s part of our heritage.

Nine of their songs have been newly arranged by David Chalmin, Nicola Tescari and Massimo Pupillo, intertwined with new compositions on the edge of improvisation. They create a multicoloured sound atune to our times, an encounter of diverse traditions and energies.

This innovative enterprise has been undertaken by Katia Labèque, unconventional pianist from a classical background to whom Miles Davis dedicated two songs, David Chalmin, alternative rocker (Red Velvet), and Nicola Tescari, contemporary composer.

B for Bang was born out of their desire to create a dynamic of energy, movement, and curiosity - with the instinct to retain the differences of their backgrounds.

Joining them are, Massimo Pupillo (Thurston Moore from Sonic Youth/Mike Patton), and Marque Gilmore (Nitin Sawney/Talvin Singh). They also invited some of their friends to collaborate, improvise and join in the making of the album – Giovanni Sollima, Viktoria Mullova, Katell Keineg, Meg, Nadeah, Patti Smith, Daniel Day Lewis.


France        4th October 2007 
Italy         December 2007 
UK            10th March


Katia Labèque       piano, Fender Rhodes
David Chalmin       guitars, vocals
Nicola Tescari      Rhodes, B3, piano 
Massimo Pupillo     bass 
Marque Gilmore      drums


Patti Smith, Daniel Day-Lewis      voices
Katell Keineg, Meg, Nadeah         vocals
Giovanni Sollima                   cello
Mario Arcari                       woodwinds


1.  Ouverture (0:29) (Nicola Tescari)
2.  Being for the benefit of Mr. Kite (3:06) (Lennon/McCartney) 
    Arranged by Nicola Tescari
3.  Interlude 1 (1:00) (David Chalmin)
4.  Helter Skelter (3:41) (Lennon/McCartney) 
    Arranged by David Chalmin 
5.  Golden Slumbers (3:12) (Lennon/McCartney) 
    Arranged by David Chalmin
6.  I Want You (3:59) (Lennon/McCartney) 
    Arranged by Nicola Tescari 
7.  Reminiscence (2:25) (Giovanni Sollima)
8.  Happiness is a Warm Gun (4:02) (Lennon/McCartney) 
    Arranged by David Chalmin 
9.  Julia (4:08) (Lennon/McCartney) 
    Arranged by David Chalmin, Nicola Tescari 
10. Interlude 2 (0:22) (David Chalmin)
11. Between those Rocks (3:28) (Katia Labèque/Giovanni Sollima)
12. Interlude 3 (0:19) (David Chalmin)
13. Blackbird (4:19) (Lennon/McCartney) 
    Arranged by Nicola Tescari
14. Come Together (2:47) (Lennon/McCartney) 
    Arranged by Nicola Tescari
15. Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds (2:39) (Lennon/McCartney) 
    Arranged by Nicola Tescari - 
16. Notes to the Future (1:52) (Patti Smith/David Chalmin) 
17. The Last Man on Earth (6:52) (David Chalmin/Massimo Pupillo) 
18. One More Song (4:20) (Nicola Tescari)


Produced by Katia Labèque, David Chalmin & Nicola Tescari
Sound design & additional electronics by Fabio Recchia aka Reeks