Katia & Marielle Labèque And The London Philharmonic Orchestra Perform The World Premiere Of Bryce Dessner’s Concerto For Two Pianos

Katia & Marielle Labèque and the London Philharmonic Orchestra perform the world premiere of Bryce Dessner’s Concerto for Two Pianos

Dessner is exactly the kind of composer who personifies what might be next for classical music. 

Mark Swed, Los Angeles Times 
 Without doubt, Bryce Dessner is one of classical music's most modern and versatile composers. A hugely successful guitarist for The National, his classical career is equally distinguished, having written for some of the finest ensembles in Europe and the US. Last year he was the first person to guest-curate a weekend of music at the spectacular Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg. 
Concerto for Two Pianos 
Dessner is a close collaborator with many of the soloists for whom he writes; this year's new Concerto for Two Pianos is no exception. Katia and Marielle Labèque, who are renowned for their ensemble of synchronicity and energy, have just finished a European tour performing Dessner's El Chan. Now, Dessner has written a concerto for the sisters to be premiered by the London Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of John Storgårds on April 13. 
The London Philharmonic Orchestra, the Dresdner Philharmonie, the Orchestre de Paris, the Orquesta Nacional de España, and the Borusan Cultural Arts Centre and the Borusan Istanbul Philharmonic Orchestra commissioned the concerto. Dresden's performances are June 17 and 18; other co-commissioners' performances are during the 2018-19 season.

In between, guest conductor John Storgårds teams up with the world-famous Labèque sisters in something wholly new and surprising: a double piano concerto, written specially for the Labèques by Bryce Dessner, Golden Globe-nominated composer of the score for The Revenant.


London Philharmonic Orchestra 
John Storgårds conductor
Katia Labèque piano
Marielle Labèque piano

Stravinsky: Jeu de cartes
Bryce Dessner: Concerto for 2 pianos (World premiere)
Rachmaninov: Symphony No.3